Jungle-of-Kilimanjaro-Trips-Logo Trans W

Northern Zone



Northern | Arusha



• Total 37,576 km2 (14,508 sq mi)
• Land 33,809 km2 (13,054 sq mi)
• Water 707 km2 (273 sq mi)

Population (2012)

• Total   1,694,310

• Density  45/km2 (120/sq mi)

Arusha Region is one of Tanzania’s 31 administrative regions. Its capital and largest city is the city of Arusha.


Arusha Region is a tourist destination and is the center of the northern Tanzania safari circuit. The national parks and reserves in this region include Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Arusha National Park, the Loliondo Game Controlled Area, and part of Lake Manyara National Park.

Remains of 600-year-old stone structures are found at Engaruka, just off the dirt road between Mto wa Mbu and Lake Natron.



The administrative region of Arusha existed in 1922 while mainland Tanzania was a British mandate under the League of Nations and known as Tanganyika. In 1948, the area was in the Northern Province, which includes the present day regions of Manyara and Kilimanjaro. In 1966, under the newly independent Tanzanian government, Arusha was given its own regional status.

In 2002, Manyara Region was created and was split from Arusha Region. Portions of the former Arusha Region districts of Kiteto, Babati, Mbulu, Hanang, and a tiny piece of Monduli were incorporated into the Manyara Region.


According to the 2012 national census, the Arusha Region had a population of 1,694,310. The region is inhabited by various ethnolinguistic groups and communities. Among these are the Iraqw, Arusha, Maasai, Wameru, Sonjo, Chagga, Pare, and Nguu.



– Arusha Declaration Monument
– Arusha National Park
– Empakaai Crater
– Engaruka
– Great Rift Valley
– Lake Manyara National Park
– Mount Longido Forest Reserve
– Mount Meru Forest Reserve
– Ngorongoro Conservation Area
– Ngurdoto Crater
– Oldonyo Lengai
– Olduvai Gorge
– Uhuru Monument



Northern | Moshi


• Total  13,250 km2 (5,120 sq mi)

Population (2012)

• Total   1,640,087

• Density  120/km2 (320/sq mi)


Kilimanjaro Region is one of Tanzania’s 31 administrative regions with a postcode number 25000. The regional capital is the municipality of Moshi.


According to the 2012 national census, the region had a population of 1,640,087, which was lower than the pre-census projection of 1,702,207.

The region forms part of the Northern Tourism Circuit in Tanzania. It is home to the Kilimanjaro National Park, the highest free standing mountain in the world, the Mkomazi National Park, the Pare Mountains, Lake Jipe, Lake Chala, tropical forests and waterfalls ‘’marangu waterfall’’.



Mount Kilimanjaro lies on a tectonic plate line intersection 80 kilometres (50 mi) east of the tectonically active Rift Valley. The activity that created this stratovolcano dates back less than a million years. Steam and sulphur fumaroles here are indicative of residual activity.

At one stage, most of the summit of Kilimanjaro was covered by an ice cap, probably more than 100 metres (330 ft) deep. Glaciers extended well down the mountain forming moraine ridges, clearly visible now on the southern flanks down to about 4,000 metres (13,000 ft).



Of the region’s six districts, four traditionally had Chagga settlements, which are Hai District, Moshi District, Rombo District, and Siha District. The other two, Mwanga District and Same District, have historically included Pare settlements.

However, during colonial rule in the late 19th century to the middle of the 20th century, the region was divided into two main districts: Moshi district, which was composed of all the areas settled by the Chagga people on the slopes of the mountain, and Pare district, which was a Pare tribe settlement.



Northern | Babati


• Total  44,522 km2 (17,190 sq mi)

Population (2012)

• Total   1,425,131

• Density   32/km2 (83/sq mi)

Manyara Region is one of Tanzania’s 31 administrative regions. The regional capital is the town of Babati. According to the 2012 national census, the region had a population of 1,425,131, which was lower than the pre-census projection of 1,497,555.


Lake Manyara is in the northern part of the region. It is bordered to the north by the Arusha Region, to the northeast by the Kilimanjaro Region, to the east by the Tanga Region, to the south by the Dodoma Region, to the southeast by the Morogoro Region, to the southwest by the Singida Region, and to the northwest by the Simiyu Region. The highest mountain in the Manyara Region is Mount Hanang.



Manyara Region is inhabited by various ethnolinguistic groups and communities. The latter include the Assa, Gorowa, Kw’adza, Mbugwe, Datooga, Maasai and Barabaig and Irakw, which is the largest ethinic group in the region.




Northern | Tanga


• Total  26,677 km2 (10,300 sq mi)

Population (2012)

• Total    2,045,205

• Density   77/km2 (200/sq mi)

Tanga is both the name of the most northerly port city of Tanzania on the west of the Indian Ocean, and the surrounding Tanga Region.It is the regional headquarters of the region. With a population of 273,332 in 2012, Tanga is one of the largest cities in the country. It is a quiet city compared to, for example, Arusha or Moshi with a comparable number of inhabitants.


Tanga Region is one of the 31 administrative regions of Tanzania. It is bordered by Kenya and Kilimanjaro Region to the north; Manyara Region to the west; and Morogoro and Pwani regions to the south. Its eastern border is formed by the Indian Ocean.


Due to close proximity to the equator and the warm Indian Ocean, the city experiences tropical climatic conditions similar to all Tanzanian coastal cities.


The city experiences hot and humid weather throughout much of the year and has a tropical wet and dry climate. Annual rainfall is approximately 1,290 mm (51 in), and in a normal year there are two rainy seasons: “the long rains” in April and May and “the short rains” in November and December.



Tourist attractions include Amboni Caves, Galanos hot springs, Saadani national park, Toten Island, URITHI Tanga Museum, war graves and memorials, Tongoni Ruins, Ndumi Village defense works, Mwarongo sand beaches and protected coastal mangroves.

Need Help? Chat with us